The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead – Book Review

Title: The Glittering Court

Author: Richelle Mead

Published: 5th April 2016

Publisher: Razorbill

Genre: Romance, Young Adult

Pages: 403

Format: E-Book

Rating: **** (4/5 Stars)

About: For a select group of girls, the Glittering Court offers a shot at a life they’ve only ever dreamed of, one of luxury, glamour, and leisure. To high-born Adelaide, whose wealthy family is forcing her into a loveless marriage, the Glittering Court represents something else: the chance to chart her own destiny, and adventure in an unspoiled, prosperous new land across the sea.

After a chance meeting with the dazzling Cedric Thorn, Adelaide poses as a servant to join the crop of impoverished girls he promises to transform into proper ladies. But her familiarity with upper-class life comes with a price: she must hide her identity from her new friends, mysterious refugee Mira and fiery former laundress Tamsin, and most importantly, from Cedric himself—even though she’s falling in love with him.

Everything begins to crumble when Cedric discovers Adelaide’s ruse, and she catches the eye of a powerful young governor, who wants her for a wife. She didn’t leave the gilded cage of her old life behind just to become someone else’s property. But nothing is as daunting—or as wonderful—as the potent, forbidden attraction simmering between Adelaide and Cedric. One that, if acted on, would make them both outcasts in a wild, dangerous, uncharted world, and possibly lead them to their deaths.

Review: So this is the first book that I’ve read that is by Richelle Mead and to be honest, I know people say they prefer her other books, I did actually quite like this story.

I do think that some reviews have been rather unkind. I think this has something to do with it being described as a book that is like ‘The Selection’ series/the tv series ‘Reign’. This book definitely starts off like ‘The Selection’, but that is only in the beginning, it becomes something more later on. So I think people were expecting a very similar story, which I don’t think it is (even though it does share the same elements).

What I liked about this book the most is the characters, the fact that the high-born Adelaide doesn’t change into a completely different person is something which I really appreciated. She develops throughout the book into a survivor, but she is still the same person by the end – it just makes her more believable.  Not that she’s a snob or anything, but she doesn’t just disregard her upbringing and learns to deal with it so that she can fit in with everyone.

I did like the relationship with Adelaide and Cedric, but I think it could have been stronger. However, there is definitely a tangible chemistry between the two of them.

I did enjoy the first half of this book more than the second part. But I don’t know whether that was because I put the book down and had a break. I found it a bit hard to get back into it. I don’t think I could have read this book in one sitting, though, to be honest, because it is quite long. It certainly felt like there were multiple books in this one (ok maybe, it could have been split in two).

There was definitely two separate stories in this book. However, I did get the feeling that the author didn’t quite know where she wanted the story to go (this is only a minor stumble, though, because once I got myself back into the book, I couldn’t put it down until I had finished). So the fact that I finished this book in two sittings is still quite good.

Just to clarify, you might think from this that I disliked the book, this is incorrect as I’m very happy that I purchased this book. I think I’m just trying to give people a warning (and not a dislike) just so that they are aware of what actually goes on in this book.

I really did like this book a lot! It’s got the history setting that I adore and yet is still considered a fantasy (because it’s all made up – and yes there is a difference between fantasy and paranormal).

I really loved the romance by the end and the fact that there was no forced love triangle (I mean sometimes they are just not necessary). Plus, you can read it as a standalone book! That’s a major win right there.

My last thing to say, though, is that I’m so annoyed that we didn’t get more on the background of Tasmin and Mira! But oh well, better buy the next book to find out what happens because I am very interested in finishing this story. So even though I did just say that you could read this as a standalone, I guarantee you, that you will want to read the rest (at least the next book is already out, so I won’t have to wait long!).

Leave a Reply

