Christmas Film Countdown – 6

Only 5 more days!

And I ended up celebrating this amazing thing last night with this person who I know – she’s ok, I mean definitely annoying but you know she’s my best friend.

It was a good night anyway, we ended up going to Piccadilly Circus and then after a brief moment of thinking where we were actually going, we ended up being invited to Piccadilly Institute, where we were able to skip the queue and get a free shot. Not a bad deal if I’m being honest with you.

And so we danced the night anyway, on a perfect girl’s night out.

That is, once we got passed all the creepy guys who seem to struggle with the meaning of the word no? Or the fact that neither of us were at all interested in joining them in something scandalous.

Also just want to say thank you to the security guard at Burger King, all we wanted to do was eat our chips in peace and you made sure that happened.

You see, the good thing about being out with your best friend is that you can both stick up for each other and we can laugh about what happened last night because nothing bad actually happened – but that’s kind of sad right? My best friend and I go out on Monday night and it’s as if it’s expected that woman have to deal with creepy guys? I’m sure this happens vice versa as well, and I just think it’s ridiculous to give them an excuse because they were just drunk (and that’s only in some cases! But I don’t really want to get into an argument about whether or not cat-calling is a a positive thing).

Don’t get me wrong though, besides my need to have a small rant about guys that are just too pushy, I actually had such a good time hanging out with my fave person.

And on that note, I give you the next film in this countdown.

***********************************************************************

Title: The Nativity

Nativity_poster.jpgAge: U

Released: 27th November 2009

Director: Debbie Isitt

Genre: Family, Comedy, Drama

Rating: ***** (5/5 stars)

About: This Christmas, primary school teacher Paul Maddens is being charged with the biggest challenge of his life – mounting the schools musical version of the Nativity. Competing against the posh local school for the honour of best reviewed show in town, the stakes are raised when Paul idly boasts that his ex-girlfriend Jennifer, a Hollywood Producer, is coming to see his show with a view to turning it into a film. The only trouble is – they havent spoken in years. With eccentric assistant Mr Poppy fuelling his little white lie, Maddens suddenly finds himself a local celebrity and at the centre of quarrelling parents and over-excited children desperate in their bid for fame and fortune. Now Maddens only hope is to get back in touch with Jennifer and lure Hollywood to town so that everybody’s Christmas wishes come true.

Review: I love this film! Like I could literally just watch this film on repeat.

It’s one of my favourite Christmas films ever (although please note that I said one of my favourite Christmas films, because I have many).

This film has the perfect cast, they are amazing together and they are all extremely funny.

It would be hard to dislike this very Christmassy film, and to anyone that does dislike it, I ask you why? I mean you could say that it is certainly over the top, but that’s what I love about it.

It’s very idea is based around that fact that Mr Maddens lied – now from the film we get that there is no such thing as a white lie, a lie, is a lie, is a lie (or something like that). You know that this is not the answer that Mr Maddens wanted, just by his face (and can I say that I find some of the faces that Martin Freeman pulls, rather amusing – in a good way).

The children are great in this film and once we actually get to the performance of the Nativity, it’s absolutely brilliant.

Why didn’t my school have a performance like that? Although I must admit I played a pretty cute shepherd (I gave it my best obviously, because I didn’t get the part of Mary, they gave that role to a girl called Mary – ironic? – and she wasn’t even any good – I am not bitter – at least I got the next thing that I wanted, because weirdly enough I didn’t fancy being an angel, I think I felt it was cooler to be a shepherd because they got a toy sheep, and could wear a tea towel on their head).

Anyway, back to the film.

This is honestly one of the funniest Christmas films out there and I really do believe that everyone should watch this film, or at least give it a chance if you’re unsure, you won’t regret it.

One of the best Christmas films out there.

Leave a Reply

